Change

change

Never stop changing, as Joe & Charlie tell us in their discussion of Step 10 …

Nothing in our universe ever stays “as is”.

Everything in our universe is in a constant state of change.

It’s either growing or it’s dying.

It’s progressing or it’s regressing.

It’s going forward or it’s going back.

If nothing changes, nothing changes.  If I’ve stopped drinking, but nothing else changes, I will drink again.

Jealousy, envy, resentments, anger, fear – any one of those, and sometimes all of them together, can be a trigger for me. I need peace from the squirrels in my brain. I need to focus on the daily maintenance of my spiritual condition:

It is easy to let up on the spiritual program of action and rest on our laurels.  We are headed for trouble if we do, for alcohol is a subtle foe.  We are not cured of alcoholism.  What we really have is a daily reprieve contingent on the maintenance of our spiritual condition. Every day is a day when we must carry the vision of God’s will into all of our activities.  “How can I best serve Thee—Thy will (not mine) be done.” These are thoughts which must go with us constantly.  We can exercise our will power along this line all we wish.  It is the proper use of the will.

Much has already been said about receiving strength, inspiration, and direction from Him who has all knowledge and power.  If we have carefully followed directions, we have begun to sense the flow of His Spirit into us.  To some extent we have become God-conscious.  We have begun to develop this vital sixth sense.  But we must go further and that means more action.   Page 85 of the Big Book

Prayer and meditation were described for me recently as “Prayer is talking to God, and Meditation is listening”. My daily reprieve happens because I have that conversation in my mind with my Higher Power, and I somehow just know that everything is going to be okay.

And that’s a change for me. Conversations with God just didn’t happen for me in the past – I would have thought it totally insane. And somehow, I’ve come to believe that if I don’t have those conversations, that the insanity of my alcoholism will return. 

And speaking of changes, this has now become a more personal account of my journey. The previous entries in this blog were made in conjunction with a group site, but since I don’t speak for the group, it is more appropriate that they now appear here. If you’re reading this, it’s because you’ve tripped over it, or else I’ve met you trudging along the Road to Happy Destiny.

See you at the next interchange!!

Harry

Leave a Reply

